New Hampshire Competitors Take Home Top Honors in State 4-H Horse Show

horsesForty-five youth from eight New Hampshire counties competed at the 2013 New Hampshire 4-H State Horse Show at the Deerfield Fairgrounds on July 19, 20, and 21. The top 17 exhibitors were selected to represent New Hampshire at the Eastern States Exposition later this summer. Eight exhibitors took home other awards.

The New Hampshire State 4-H Horse Show is the multi-event, state-level competition for the New Hampshire 4-H Horse Program. Participants in two divisions junior and senior compete in a knowledge exam, judging contest, fitting and showmanship class, equitation class, and two choice classes. Disciplines include Hunt Seat, Saddle Seat, Western Seat, Gymkhana, Driving, and Small Equine. In order to participate in the state event, competitors must first qualify at their county event.Click more for list of top riders

Those who received the top 17 highest scores at the state show will represent New Hampshire at the Big E Eastern States Exposition 4-H Horse Program September 18, 19, 20, and 21 in West Springfield, Massachusetts. They are as follows:

1. Katelyn Ashburn (Sullivan) – 485
2. Jacqueline Johnson (Rockingham) – 458
3. Lucy Williams (Rockingham) – 456
4. Kristy Sullivan (Sullivan) – 456
5. Brittany Leonard (Merrimack) – 453
6. Magdalena Kenter (Rockingham) – 450
7. Maddy Bergeron (Hillsborough) – 442
8. Kristen Wesoja (Sullivan) – 440
9. Madeline Powers (Cheshire) – 437
10. Cassidy Boon (Merrimack) – 436
11. Alicia Barry (Sullivan) – 417
12. Makayla Vadeboncouer (Rockingham) – 415
13. Victoria Durrett (Rockingham) – 411
14. Anna Avery (Sullivan) – 410
15. Emily Sawtelle (Rockingham) – 404
16. Molly Tombarello (Rockingham) – 391
17. Monica Newton (Sullivan) – 388

Other riders received category awards.

Anna Avery (Sullivan County) received the High Point Junior Rider Quiz and Judging Award. Magdelena Kenter (Rockingham County) received the High Point Senior Rider Quiz and Judging Award. Jacqueline Johnson (Rockingham County received the Highest Overall Score in Driving Division award. Brittany Leonard (Merrimack County) received the High Point Junior Rider-Marion Lindabury Award. Katelyn Ashburn (Sullivan County) received the High Point Senior Rider-Marcia Lang Award. Madeline Short (Hillsborough County) received the Apple Scruffs Award for the junior stable manager with the highest combined quiz and judging scores. Kendall Donohoe (Belknap County) received the Chrissy Award for the senior stable manager with the highest combined quiz and judging scores. Sullivan County received the Peacemaker Award for obtaining the highest average exhibitor score.

The 4-H Foundation of New Hampshire and UNH Cooperative Extension sponsored the competition. The Deerfield Fairgrounds, Deerfield EMT, Rockingham County 4-H Horse Leaders Association, Hillsborough County 4-H Horse Council, Wahl-to-Wahl Sound, and Brown Grafix supported the event.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>