2013 Hale Award Recipient Announced

russoNovelist, Richard Russo, is the 2013 Hale Award Medalist and will accept the award on Oct. 5, 2013 at the Newport Opera House.
Russo deals with the small-town life that is so important to New England identity and culture. “The Pulitzer Prize Russo won for his Maine novel, Empire Falls and shows that his work has both quality and an appeal extending well beyond the place he writes about. Among contemporary New England novelists, he is by any assessment a significant figure.” Said Wes McNair, one of the Sarah Hale Award Board of Judges.

.  The list of Hale Award winners includes the finest writers of our times from Robert Frost in 1956 to Jill Lepore in 2012.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>